Hebrew Days of The Week

The Hebrew names for the days of the week are simply the day number within the week. In Hebrew, these names may be abbreviated using the numerical value of the Hebrew letters, for example יום א׳ (Day 1, or Yom Rishon (יום ראשון)):

  1. Yom Ekhad (יום אחד) = “day one” or Yom Rishonיום ראשון (abbreviated יום א׳) = “first day” = Sunday (starting at preceding sunset)
  2. Yom Sheniיום שני (abbr. יום ב׳) = “second day” = Monday
  3. Yom Shlishiיום שלישי (abbr. יום ג׳) = “third day” = Tuesday
  4. Yom Reviʻiיום רבעי (abbr. יום ד׳) = “fourth day” = Wednesday
  5. Yom Chamishiיום חמישי (abbr. יום ה׳) = “fifth day” = Thursday
  6. Yom Shishiיום ששי (abbr. יום ו׳) = “sixth day” = Friday
  7. Yom Sheviʻi (יום השׁביעי ) = “seventh day“, but better known as Yom Shabbatיום שבת (abbr. יום ש׳) or שבת – Shabbat = “Sabbath day (Rest day)” = Saturday

The names of the days of the week are modeled on the seven days mentioned in the Book of Genesis.

(1) Genesis 1:5 ויקרא אלהים לאור יום ולחשׁך קרא לילה ויהי־ערב ויהי־בקר יום אחד׃

(2) Genesis 1:8 ויקרא אלהים לרקיע שׁמים ויהי־ערב ויהי־בקר יום שׁני׃

(3) Genesis 1:13 ויהי־ערב ויהי־בקר יום שׁלישׁי׃

(4) Genesis 1:19 ויהי־ערב ויהי־בקר יום רביעי׃

(5) Genesis 1:23 ויהי־ערב ויהי־בקר יום חמישׁי׃

(6) Genesis 1:31 וירא אלהים את־כל־אשׁר עשׂה והנה־טוב מאד ויהי־ערב ויהי־בקר יום השׁשׁי׃

(7) Genesis 2:2 יכל אלהים ביום השׁביעי מלאכתו אשׁר עשׂה וישׁבת ביום השׁביעי מכל־מלאכתו אשׁר עשׂה׃


This entry was posted in Vocabulary and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.